National Disaster Management Authority Government of India


National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) adopted a 9 step process, while preparing the National Guidelines on Management of Cyclones. This include a national workshop and several meetings of the core group and sub groups, including representatives from concerned ministries of the Government of India, senior government officials from 13 coastal states and Union Territories (UTs), senior members from science and technology institutions and social workers from prominent Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs). This is 4-tier feedback and interaction from:

  • Sub-district level
  • District level
  • State/UT Level
  • National level - Ministries of the Government of India

Finally, a series of meetings deliberated on various aspects of the subject and released its conclusions on 24 April 2008.