National Disaster Management Authority Government of India

PRESS RELEASE Kiren Rijiju inaugurates NDMP review workshop


Kiren Rijiju inaugurates NDMP review workshop 

NEW DELHI, WEDNESDAY: Minister of State, Home Affairs, Kiren Rijiju, today inaugurated a two-day workshop on the review of the National Disaster Management Plan (NDMP) at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi. The workshop has been organised by the National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA).

“It is imperative that we integrate Disaster Risk Reduction into our governance,” Shri Rijiju said, adding that this review would majorly guide in managing future disasters. 

The NDMP, India's first-ever national plan for Disaster Management, was launched by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in June last year. The Plan itself provides for periodic reviews to accommodate emerging global practices and national experiences. The Prime Minister’s 10-point agenda on DRR, outlined during the Asian Ministerial Conference on DRR in November last year, will serve as the guiding document in the revision of the Plan.

Calling the review of the Plan crucial for all stakeholders, Dr. P.K. Mishra, Additional Principal Secretary to the PM, said it was important to keep socio-economic realities and changes in mind while revisiting the Plan. 

In its efforts to make the review process participatory and inclusive, NDMA had sought suggestions on the national plan from State Governments and Ministries of the Central Government. 

Discussions at this workshop will form a part of the deliberations at the upcoming National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR), which will be held shortly.  

Senior officials of NDMA and Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), State Governments and Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) attended the first day of the workshop. 


Shri Kiren Rijiju, MoS, Home Affairs (centre) at the two-day workshop on NDMP that started on Wednesday (April 12, 2017) at Vigyan Bhawan in New Delhi. To his left are: Dr. P. K. Mishra, Additional Principal Secretary to the PM; Lt. Gen. (Retd.) N. C. Marwah, Member, NDMA; Dr. D. N. Sharma, Member, NDMA; Shri R. K. Pachnanda, DG, NDRF. To his right are: Shri R. K. Jain, Member, NDMA; Shri Kamal Kishore, Member, NDMA; Shri B. B. Mallick, Additional Secretary, MHA and Dr. V. Thiruppugazh, Joint Secretary, NDMA.