National Disaster Management Authority Government of India

School Safety Project

National School Safety Project - this scheme is being implemented in 8600 schools in 43 districts of 22 states i.e. Jammu & Kashmir, Haryana, Meghalaya, Manipur, Himachal Pradesh, Gujarat, Assam, Nagaland, Punjab, Chandigarh, Rajasthan, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim, Delhi, Tripura, Uttarakhand, Bihar, Mizoram, Andaman & Nicobar, West Bengal, Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra. An estimated cost of Rs. 47.48 crore will be involved in implementation of the scheme. This is a demonstration project to promote a culture of safety in schools by initiating policy level changes, capacity building of officials, teachers, students and other stake holders by undertaking information, education and communication activities, promoting non structural mitigation measures and demonstrating structural initiatives in a few schools. The following activities are being taken up under the project by Capacity Building and Training Division:- Development of Standard Teachers Training module (TTM) Training of Master Trainers/Teachers Distribution of disaster preparedness kits. Organizing mock drills. Capacity building of Engineers. In addition to the above two major projects, cited above, Capacity Building and Training Division is regularly processing cases for conduct of Workshops/ Seminars/ Conferences / Symposiums organized by various State Government Premier Training and Academic Institutes, Civil Society Groups and Non Government organizations on subjects based on disaster management activities such as preparedness, mitigation, response, relief and rehabilitation.